Get Support
Forums
Knowledge Base
Data Recovery
Security Notices
Downloads
Warranty Information
Find and download the latest product firmware, utility or driver.
Partner Program
Red Rewards
Deal Registration
Case Studies & White Papers
Webinars
Helpful Tips & Articles
About Buffalo
Buffalo Compliance Information
Trademarks
Legal
Press Releases
Search by either entering keywords/KB_ID or by selecting a category.
OR
KB ID: 4764
Last Updated: 10/14/2024
Applies to TeraStation TS5010 / TS3010 series firmware version 4.00
If you are using firmware version 4.00 and the log files was created after updating the firmware version 4.00 until now, these log files may not be kept when updating the firmware to version 4.12. Before updating the firmware, make sure you have backed up the necessary log files to different location, not on the TeraStation.
Note: If you want to copy log files to another location, follow the procedure below: 1. From Settings, navigate to "Management" > "Logs". 2. Click 'Edit'. 3. Enable "Share Link to Logs" and select the shared folder where the link will be created. 4. Access the shared folder that you have configured at step 3 and copy the "file.log" file to a desired location outside of TeraStation.
If your TeraStation meets the following conditions, the TeraStation may not boot after restarting or updating the firmware: (1) The I70 and I71 information messages occur frequently (2) The firmware is version 4.00. Although data on the TeraStation will be kept if the issue has already occurred on your TeraStation, there is no way to recover from the issue by yourself. Contact Buffalo technical support for assistance. If the issue hasn't occurred yet, you may avoid the issue by changing the TeraStation's settings. Refer to the "How to Change File Access Log Settings" section below.
[How to Change File Access Log Settings] To avoid the issue, make sure to change the both settings below.
Step 1: Delete all existing file access logs. If the log files are necessary, copy to another location. 1. From Settings, navigate to "Management" > "Logs". 2. Click 'Delete' to the right of "File Access Logs". 3. Click 'Yes'.
Step 2: Change the settings to save fewer file access logs. 1. From Settings, navigate to "Management" > "Logs". 2. Click 'Edit'. 3. Change archive rule settings to the following Buffalo-recommended values: Units: "Size" File Sizes: "100 MB" Versions: "13"
This site uses cookies in order to improve your user experience and to provide content tailored specifically to your interest. By continuing to browse our site, you agree to our use of cookies. You can view our Privacy Notice here.